VW Golf Mk6 stereo install – introduction

Background

So, this is the first post of several in which I’m going cover an install of a stereo in my Golf.  It’s possibly the longest install in history.  I started in 2012 soon after getting the car and after a long period of not getting round to finishing it, completed the remaining work at the beginning of this year during the Covid-19 lockdown.

My intention is to leave this as some hopefully useful information for anyone installing something similar.  Some of what I’ll cover have general application (i.e. it doesn’t have to be a Golf or the same type of system).  I’m writing from the angle of someone who’s done bits of installs on cars before, but never something like this.

You’ll find information from professionals and far more experienced amateurs than me on the Web, but I hope to show how something worthwhile can be achieved even if you’re not an expert or don’t have access to a wealth of tools.  I’ve learned a lot and hope to share as much as I can and will share my mistakes too so you should be able to do better.

Another reason for writing this is that I started describing the build and getting help over on DIYMobileAudio.com in 2012. Then the build stalled (in a working but unfinished state) and life and lethargy got in the way. When I went back, the pictures I’d loaded had gone from Photobucket and I couldn’t repair them.  I wanted to leave this so that anyone finding that thread could see some of the details.

Overview

You might want to know what the final system consists of to see if this is of any interest…

My goals were to install something which would provide great sound quality for use everyday.  There was no intention to compete and I listen to a broad spread of music so tonal accuracy and imaging were important to me. I also wanted it to be completely stealth in nature and not to destroy the practicality of my Golf which was and still is for a little while longer, my daily driver. Oh – and I also wanted to retain the spare wheel.  Anyone who has a Golf will recognise that this calls for some careful packaging.

The system consists of 2 way components up front driven actively by a 4 channel amp from a VW RNS510 head unit (the double DIN satnav DVD unit found in VWs of this age).  There is also a 12 inch sub in a sealed enclosure in the boot powered by a separate amp.  The equipment is mounted on a custom amp rack in the boot with the sub enclosure.

The equipment used is slightly less relevant because this system has been so long in the making – there are better options today.  But, I’ll cover the kit I used later on.  A quick summary is that it has an Audison Bit Ten D processor with DRC controller, Hertz DP 4 class D amplifier and Audison Voce components (these started out as Hertz HSK165XLs – a story for later on). The sub is a lowly Hertz ES300 powered by an ancient Rockford Fosgate Punch 60.2 amp which has served in at least two of my cars before this one 🙂

ICE plan as built

After a long process of installing and ongoing tuning I think it now sounds and looks pretty good and delivers well against what I originally wanted to achieve. There are some things which I hope to improve and some things I’d do differently next time – I’ll cover those in a later installment as well.

My plan is to cover planning (including Sketchup designs for the amp rack and sub enclosure), the build and install processes, tuning of it all and my first attempts at trimming with carpet and vinyl.   I’ll do a few more in depth bits where I think they may be useful and if this gets any comments I’ll do my best to address any gaps. That’ll do for this quick intro.  Back soon with more.

 

 

 

Leave a comment